The future of the Macron scale of indemnitees before Labour Court

Jan 16, 2019

admin

Non classé

0

Decree No. 2017-1387 of 22 September 2017 on the predictability and security of labour relations has amended Article L1235-3 of the Labour Code by introducing a scale for dismissals ruled without a real and serious cause, rapidly nicknamed the “Macron scale” after its maker.

 

In accordance with this scale, when an employee’s dismissal occurs for a reason that is not real and serious, and in the absence of reinstatement, the judge sentence the employer to pay the employee a compensatory indemnity ranging between the minimum and maximum amounts set by the text.

 

For instance, an employee with 5 years’ seniority may obtain a compensatory indemnity in a range between 3 and 6 months’ salary when the employer has less than 11 employees.

 

The compliance of this scale with international and European standards is now being questioned by several Labour Courts, hence the maintaining of its application.

 

Indeed, the Labour Court of Troyes recently ruled that the Macron scale was inconsistent with several international and European standards (ILO Convention No. 158 and the European Social Charter) and, as a result, simply ruled out its application.

 

A few days ago, the Labour Courts of Lyon and Amiens both ruled in the same way.

 

It is likely that other Labour Courts take precedence over these decisions and therefore rule in the same vein. In any case, there is no doubt that the Supreme Court (”Cour de Cassation”), the guardian of the compliance of the law with supra legislative status, will have to rule on the issue.

 

 

*Decision of the Labour Court of Troyes of December 13th, 2018 (No 18/00036).

Post by admin

Comments are closed.

Le devenir du barème Macron relatif au plafonnement des indemnités prud’homales

janv. 16, 2019

admin

Non classé

0

L’ordonnance n° 2017-1387 du 22 septembre 2017 relative à la prévisibilité et la sécurisation des relations de travail a modifié l’article L1235-3 du Code du travail en instaurant un barème d’indemnisation du licenciement sans cause réelle et sérieuse, rapidement surnommé « barème Macron » (lequel en fut l’instigateur).

 

Il résulte de ce barème que depuis le 23 septembre 2017, lorsque le licenciement d’un salarié survient pour une cause qui n’est pas réelle et sérieuse, et en l’absence de réintégration, le juge condamne l’employeur à verser au salarié une indemnité dont le montant est compris entre les montants minimaux et maximaux fixés par le texte.

 

A titre d’exemple, un salarié ayant 5 ans d’ancienneté dans une entreprise comptant plus de 11 salariés peut obtenir une indemnité pour licenciement sans cause réelle et sérieuse comprise dans une fourchette entre 3 et 6 mois de salaire.

 

Aujourd’hui, la conformité du barème vis-à-vis des normes internationales et européennes est mise en cause par certains conseils de prud’hommes, et, par là même, le maintien de son application.

 

En effet, le Conseil de Prud’hommes de Troyes* a jugé il y a peu que le barème Macron était contraire à plusieurs normes internationales et européennes (Convention OIT n°158 et Charte Sociale Européenne) et a, de ce fait, purement et simplement écarté son application.

 

Il y a quelques jours, les Conseil de Prud’hommes de Lyon et d’Amiens ont tous deux jugé dans le même sens.

 

Il est à craindre que d’autres Conseils de Prud’hommes s’inspirent de ces décisions et rendent des jugements similaires. En tout état de cause, nul doute que la Cour de cassation, gardienne de la conformité de la loi aux normes supralégislatives, sera amenée à se prononcer sur la question.

 

 

*Jugement du Conseil de Prud’hommes de Troyes du 13 décembre 2018 (RG F 18/00036)

Post by admin

Comments are closed.